First bookshelf post of 2014 (for me)! There are books from several months in here but I thought I would do a quick mini review of each of them despite mentioning some of them in one of my recent TOTW posts… and as part of my First quarter of 2014 goals I have tracked them in Goodreads, go me!

Image

Summer with my Sister by Lucy Diamond – This was really lovely and I particularly felt inspired after reading to make my own bath bombs and scrubs… which I still haven’t done but have every intention of doing once I have my own kitchen to make a mess in.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi – I really enjoyed this, completely broke me and I love the style of writing so much. I won’t go into further detail because that’s how I went in to this book and I think it was so much better as a result.

Q by Evan Mandery – Such a slow starter, once the time travelling guests started increasing then it was OK again. A nice ending surprisingly, even though I felt like the main character was just as annoying as Quentin from The Magicians.

The Accidental Sorcerer (Rogue Agent 1) by K.E. Mills – Crazy and all over the place but definitely enjoyable. I love the random mentions of vampire butterflies. I will be requesting book two and three in the series at the library soon.

Image

Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School 2) by Gail Carriger – Fast becoming one of my favourite writers, this steampunk and espionage finishing school novel is an easy read. I can’t wait for the next book!

 

 

 

 

Image

Bad Girls by Rebecca Chance – I saw this author’s books at Big W and the next day was requesting them from my local library. I liked this better than some of her other books. Always just chick lit cliche storylines or rags to riches, I would class this as a beach read with a naughty edge.

 

 

 

 

Image

Killer Queens by Rebecca Chance – The first of her books that I read, it was a bit funny to read the fictional things that royals and celebrities could be getting up to. I love to imagine myself in a pretty little castle with loads of money and privilege… minus the gross happenings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image

Diva by Carrie Duffy – I read this more recently and can’t say it was the best chick lit I’ve ever read but it was okay. I liked the idea of Kennedy’s.

Fifty Bales of Hay by Rachael Treasure – The mower story made me laugh out loud and Adam’s mum asked me if I was reading a country book… awkward. Just a filler book.

Natural Born Angel (Immortal City 2) by Scott Speer – I really like this series, in a world of vampires and John Green try hard books this is a refreshing change. I dislike the cliffhanger ending though!

Never Fade (The Darkest Minds 2) by Alexandra Bracken – Not as enjoyable as the first book but I will read the next anyway. I liked that it was a bigger book than the first though so that we got to meet and enjoy the characters more. MIght try and read her other book, Brightly Woven, before book three of this series comes out later this year.

Confessions of a Wild Child by Jackie Collins – I don’t know why I continue to bother with Jackie Collins’ books, she just isn’t Danielle Steele and I don’t enjoy her characters they are all so vulgar. Yuck.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion – This was such a good book and I hear the second one is on the way! I think I would have preferred that the author focus a smidge more on Don’s interaction with the Aspies as it was such a brief mention but that said I adored the second half of the book and it was such a great reading experience. The Book Hype Podcast mentioned it in The Actual Book Thief and I was so happy that I’d already read it after they gave it such a glowing response.

Killer Heels by Rebecca Chance – by this point I was just glad that I’d satisfied my chick lit quota for January already. This was a bit Devil Wears Prada… what I imagine it would have been if it was written by a bitter person. Strange novel although I was surprised by a twist involving Victoria and Lykke and enjoyed their ending.

Friends and Rivals by Tilly Bagshawe – I think I must have read this before but it wasn’t as memorable and therefore I read this book with a huge sense of deja vu.

And that’s that! My 100 book challenge is 15 books in so far. I am currently reading Neil Gaiman’s Ocean at the end of the Lane and it’s very enjoyable after the weird first chapter or two.

Any recommendations for me?? What are you currently reading?

PS I sent these three back to the library, as I just couldn’t finish them sadly.

Image