So it has been well over a month, closer to two months, since my last Bookshelf update! Tsk, tsk! During this time, I’ve read a decent amount of books and done my best to keep a note of these in preparation for this post, which I have been procrastinating for several weeks now. Without any further ado…

Physical Books Read:

2013-07-17 12.43.32

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Excuse the to do list notes in the background, and the mess.

Total Eclipse just made me sad that the series was over. I also finished the Outcast series as well which is a spin off of the Weather Warden series, not sure what happened to that photo but there are four books – Undone, Unknown, Unseen and Unbroken. I enjoyed the Outcast series ending more I think.

I enjoyed Organizing for Dummies so much that I’m going to buy my own copy so I can have it for ever. I’m such an organisational nerd.

Shoe Addicts Anonymous was really surprisingly enjoyable.

I’m on the fence about The Lucky Ones (it was a depressing finish compared to what I thought it would be). Also The People of Sparks I thought was a brand new release as a sequel to The City of Ember, however now I can see there are several more books after this already released haha woops. I am looking forward to what happens to the People of Sparks but wouldn’t say it is a must read.

Etiquette & Espionage, I picked this one up off of the bookshelf thinking ‘ooh that looks alright’ but the stickers from the library covered who it was by and I never pay much attention anyway. About a third into the story, there was just WAY TOO MANY similarities to one of my favourite series by Gail Carriger. STUPID BLONDE ME, honestly!? It’s the spin off series of those books. I was thrilled and sped through the book with even more enjoyment after that. I will be looking out for the next in this series now hehe.

The Jude Deveraux book, Moonlight Masquerade, was actually part of the Edilean series (Book EIGHT!) but as it was just a feel good lovey dovey book (love these to fill in the time) I enjoyed it and was able to follow it regardless. It was quite enjoyable and I will go back and read the other books most likely.

Not pictured: I also finished the book I was reading in the second edition of my BookShelf posts, Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder. Love love love it! I think I also forgot to mention that I finished the book I was reading in the FIRST edition, Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult. Always enjoy these books.

Kobo Books Read:

Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead – slow to begin with then picks up and is a very interesting read from then on.

Sweet Peril, and Sweet Evil, by Wendy Higgins – quite decent, but not really anything special. I like the concept. I will read what is next to find out what happens.

Ruins by Orson Scott Card – an in depth but annoying read. I liked the first book but not this.

What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan – a short story I enjoyed from the Mortal Instruments series.

The Selection, The Elite, and The Prince by Kiera Cass – two books and a novella from the Selection series.

A Kiss for Midwinter by Courtney Milan – I liked this, a old school historical romance.

Gravity by Melissa West – I liked this but it wasn’t particularly memorable.

Crossed by Ally Condie – nice to follow the story along but I still feel there isn’t anything remarkable happening yet.

The Governess Affair by Cournet Milan – another old school historical romance.

Fated by Alyson Noel – I didn’t like this very much at all.

Stardust by Neil Gaiman – hooray! I finally read this! Enjoyed it but was confused at the end as I am too loyal to the movie version I think. Translated well.

Grave of Mercy by Robin LaFevers – historical daughters of death type novel. I really liked this.

Legacy, and Allegiance, by Cayla Kluver – both VERY enjoyable books. I love the main character Alera she was awesome.

Total count: 30 books from the past six weeks approximately. That's on average five a week. I'm happy with that.

Currently reading: Snuff by Terry Pratchett, on Kobo Books; and Gates of Paradise by Melissa de la Cruz, which is the seventh book in the Blue Bloods series.

On the bookshelf to read: the same as my Second Edition. I am only just making a dent into that with the above mentioned Gates of Paradise. I have also hired out the following ten books from my local library to read:

2013-07-17 14.21.53

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking out for: Fifth Grave Past The Light by Darynda Jones; and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.

Yesterday I purchased a magazine therefore breaking my Magazine ban. Thankfully I had read and cut up all the old magazines, I have just kept the Health & fitness and Real Living magazines for reference 🙂 and I always keep the copies of Harpers Bazaar because I love them! I actually only bought InStyle for the John Frieda travel freebies! It was the last one on the shelf so it was meant to be! 😉 And cheaper than buying new travel mini packs at $8.20 also!

What have you been reading lately? Feel free to recommend any fantastic reads!